The Amsterdam Canals and Autumn Light

Travel vibes are on the low. Haven’t been away from Malta since December!

I miss it so much; booking a flight, planning the trip out, the endless ‘accomodation wishlists’… The anticipation, the food, the nights out, the wrong turns, the laughs and the frustrations, the nostalgia, the memories…

One of my ‘last travels’ included a weekend getaway in the lovely Amsterdam. I can’t think of a better word to describe my stay there; absolutely lovely. The soft autumn light, chilly breezes and all those coffee shops. I fell in love with the canals, the orange and auburn leaves and the gentle sound of water lapping within the narrow canals. Staying in an adorable house boat certainly contributed to the authenticity of our short visit; there’s something so soothing about sleeping and waking up to the sound of water – maybe it’s because I’m an islander, water is part of my soul.

Amsterdam is definitely the European city I would choose to live in if I were to leave my beloved little island rock. Gorgeous architecture, fall leaves, chip shops at every corner, cute pigeons, friendly locals and those magnificent canals. What else could a girl ask for… ❤

Here are just a few snapshots of the beautiful city…

2 thoughts on “The Amsterdam Canals and Autumn Light

  1. Lillian Ciappara June 2, 2019 — 9:01 pm

    Just been to Amsterdam last April Really loved it
    We also went 3 days in Giethoorn …so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m thinking the city is vibrant during spring!! Would love the revisit and venture outside the capital!

      Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close